[Essay] - Abolish death penalty forever - provide the reasons

Topic.

Do you think the death penalty should be banned forever and why?

Writing.

Death penalty has been excluded from many nations' regulation since it is considered to be inappropriate in the civil society. In my opinion, death penalty should be completely abolished as this inhumane action brings only death to our humankind.

Firstly, there might be wrongful executions which cannot be taken back. This is because the juries might reach wrong conclusion based only on the witness words and not thorough investigation. Then the innocent would get the penalty even he is not a crime. For example, Cameron Willingham was accused of killing his three daughters. The final judgment made by claims of his neighbor was death. Later, thanks to modern technology he was found innocent, but it was too late. Thus, false arrests lead to another tragedies produced by the government and laws.

Secondly, death penalty violates the right to life of individuals. If you decide to take the life of convicted person, your mindset is not different from a murderer. Opposed to executions, crimes should be re-educated to self-reflect their behaviors and then pay back to the community right in prisons. Otherwise, what would we get back when carrying out death penalty? Nothing except for death. Everyone has a right to live to fulfil social duty.

In conclusion, I agree that death penalty should be supplanted by life imprisonment or other punishments. This encourages a more humane attitude towards crimes and allows them to make contributions to society.