IELTS Academic Discussion Essay - Spending money on improving existing public trasport

IELTS book 12 test 7 writing task 2: In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

public transportation upgrade

My reply (252 words):

It is considered, by a few around the world, that the construction of new faster trains is where most of the government's funds should be spent. Albeit it might be a good investment, I believe updating the currently available public transportation methods is of higher significance.

Less time spent on commuting between places is usually desirable. In other words, everyone wants to reach their intended destinations quicker. For instance, a man who works in two different districts would see greater value in spending millions on a new faster subway. However, this will lead to an increased number of transportation methods, and the new subway might face a set of complains and thus require later improvement.

On another note, funding projects targeted towards enhancing the existing modes of public transportation is the better option. Some individuals find that building faster means of transport is not the answer for smoother translocation between areas. If there is only one bus that goes from city A to city B, the public would benefit more if the state was to spend on adding another bus. It would definitely be less costly and much more helpful.

In conclusion, a country's cash reserve should be spent very wisely with respect to transportation. Billions of dollars used up on a project such as new and high-speed trains might not be what the citizens want. On the other hand, governmental expenditures on fixing the already present forms of public transport is not only a cheaper option but most probably exactly what the people need.