IELTS Academic essay: Is increasing working hours leads to economic success?

Some people say that increasing working hours leads to economic success, but there are also some disadvantages to it. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this point of view?

Profit maximization is main goal of any company. The extending productivity of company is vital part for profit maximization.

It is traditionally believed that productivity is linked to longer working hours. Although, from one side, a working overtime affects on productivity of company, which leads to growth of economic success, I believe that increased working hours would lead to social and health issues such as family problems related lack of time-balance and stress related health issues.

Physical health is vital thing for all people in society. Healthy man can have more productivity than others who have health issues. Overtime working usually leads person to feel bad with health condition after some time and this becomes a basis of future diseases. For example, computer programmers usually spend all their working time on sitting behind computer. Spending long time on working with computer each day affects person's sight and usually leads to feel pain in back because of restricted muscle movements. When starting to feel pain in his body, no one cannot work as he was before, as a consequence, the production of individuals would be decreased. This is one of two important reasons why I believe long working hours is not good choice for better productivity.

Also, when spending most of their time at workplace, people would be loose their time-balance for relaxing, enjoying and staying with their family. People must be relaxed well and recharged before the next working day. Also they must have time for enjoying in daily-life related activities and events in order to feel happiness of life. Furthermore, paying less attention on family members, especially on children, is worsening the relationship between people and makes it difficult to understand each other well.

In conclusion, overtime working can become a main factor of difficulties in human's life such as deterioration of health condition and lack of time-balance. Therefore, I strongly believe that long working hour could not be the vital part of increasing economic success.