IELTS Academic Writing Task 2 - Purpose of prison

Some people think that the only purpose of prison is to punish criminals. Others, however, argue that it has other purposes as well. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Essay:

Prison, as a treatment of criminals, has been serving the purpose of punishing criminals for centuries. Some people believe that it is the only purpose of prison, while others argue that the purposes of prison should not be limited to punishment. Personally, I am in favour of the latter opinion.

Originally, people developed prison system to punish criminals. As an old saying goes: What goes around comes around. The consequence of committing a crime is the loss of freedom and long-term imprisonment, so that prisoner can reflect on their actions. In some cases, prisoners are sentenced to serve the prison to death, meaning they will never have the chance to go back to normal life, which is a life time punishment. However, as the development of prison system, nowadays it becomes serving more than one purpose and undertakes multi-roles in the society.

Firstly, reforming criminals becomes an important duty of prisons. In order to reduce the re-offending rate and help those prisoners to go back to society, some prisons offer training programs to equip the prisoners with employment skills. Furthermore, as part of the prisoners have mental issues or being addicted to drugs or alcohol, some counselling programs are provided to rehabilitate them. Therefore, prison is also in a role of helping and reforming offenders, rather than serving solely as a punishment tool.

Secondly, prison provides security to the society. As being locked in the prison, criminals are not allowed to pose threats to others anymore, ensuring the stability and safety of the society. Otherwise, parents would be so worried when their children running around in a park and people would be so scared of taking cash out of ATM.

In conclude, prison not only serves as a punishment tool, but also taking important roles in reforming offenders and providing security to the society.