IELTS (Academic)Task 2- Responsibility to pay for the cost of road development

As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on the road systems. Some people think that the government should be responsible for the costs. Others, however, argue that car users should pay for the costs. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Essay:

As the number of cars on the roads increasing these days, a debated issues is undertaken about whether government or car users should pay for the cost of developing road system. Personally, I believe that government should take the main role in building road system, however, car users, as the direct beneficiary, need to share more of the cost.

On one hand, government has an undeniable responsibility in developing roads, since car users are not the only group gaining benefits from efficient road system. On a macro level, the social economic will be boosted, as efficient traffic system dwindling the gap between urban and rural areas, meaning more job positions will be provided and more investment opportunities will be created. On a micro level, other groups, such as car manufacturers, people without cars but using public transportation and tourists, also benefit from extensive and fast traffic. Therefore, as the project involves the interests of different groups, it should be financially supported and accomplished by government.

On the other hand, some people argue that since the government raise funding primarily from taxpayer's income, it seems so unfair to certain individuals to share the cost, especially to those people who always travel on foot rather than using road-vehicles. Accordingly, it makes sense that car users pay more of the cost through higher road registration fee or extra road develop tax on petrol.

In conclusion, it should be government's responsibility to financially support and develop efficient road system. But from the perspective of fairness, car users should contribute more money than other groups.