Academic subjects should be useful for future careers of students?

Schools should concentrate on teaching students the academic subjects that will be useful for their future career. Subjects such as music and sports are not useful. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

(This is a real IELTS topic that I found from website, however, it seems a bit odd in terms of academic subjects. How do people put the subjects into categories actually? Anyway, help with my grammar please!)

In speaking of most of those common students, I strongly agree that schools shall give top priority to subjects that will benefit student's future career directly rather than other subjects such as music and sports because those can be learnt as a hobby after school.

The reason for this may involve the recognition that the curriculum schools have been set must meet the requirements of the job market. Apparently, the job options for arts and sports are relatively limited in compare with some general occupations such as teachers and accountants.

It is quite common these days among new graduates who are major in one subject could not find a steady job because they are not trained to be a specialist in those fields. Without sufficient academic achievement, they will surely blame schools for not letting them become competitive in the job market consequently.

In spite of this, the obvious advantages for learning music and sports cannot be denied. Those who really love arts and sports may become future's artists and sports starts. Unfortunately, we should admit that these talents are few. For those who found those subjects are extremely useful and stimulating, they could choose those as their hobbies after classes.

In conclusion, the basic but vital task for students at school is obtaining academic knowledge. Once they left school and start job hunting, they will realize the importance of learning academic knowledge rather than other subjects, which can be learnt after classes as a personal hobby so long as someone who really appreciate it.