Achilles in the Trojan War; Three character traits of Achilles of MOVIE TROY

Write a five paragraph essay about three character traits from one of the characters off of the movie Troy.

In the Movie Troy there is one character that really stands out to me, his name, well it is Achilles. Known for demolishing armies of men with his hubris attitude, Achilles also conveyed this sympathetic side that many never knew and let us not forget his audacious way of not fearing anyone or anything.

When many think of Achilles, one of the first things that pop into their minds is his hubris attitude. Achilles showed off this attitude many a times in the movie Troy. When Agamemnon and Achilles have a face to face altercation, Agamemnon decides to take Briseis away from Achilles and make her his own prize. This clearly shows off Achilles hubris attitude because shortly after, he refuses to fight for the Greeks, thinking that without him they will surly suffer a great deal. Not only this, but going into the battle against Price Hector, Achilles was confident without a doubt the he would be the winner. He didn't even expect to get injured one tiny bit.

On a whole other note, Achilles has a softer side to him, a sympathetic side. Not sympathetic to all, just the ones he cares most about. Take the time when Patroclus stole Achilles's beautifully made armor and poses as Achilles while fighting Price Hector. This shortly leads to Patroclus's young death at the hands of Prince Hector. Being that Achilles has a sympathetic side; he is outraged that Patroclus dies and swears to avenge him by killing Prince Hector. Later in the movie, knowing that Prince Hector is Briseis's cousin, Achilles apologizes for slaying him, showing how he cares for her feelings as a person. When Priam comes to get the body of Prince Hector, Achilles agrees to let him take the boy's body home and have a funeral, would someone who is not sympathetic do this, probably not. He even gives Priam twelve days for funeral games.

Out of the tons of character traits one could bestow upon Achilles, the one that seems to be the most vital is his audacious way on and out of the battle field. There are countless times that Achilles proves this to be true in the movie Troy. Like when he goes after Agamemnon to save Briseis's life. This not only risks his life but his honor as the greatest warrior in the Greek army. When Achilles gives Priam time to have funeral games for Prince Hector displays how audacious Achilles really is, because his did not even ask Agamemnon for approval. Achilles travels to Troy's walls to fight Prince Hector, knowing that Prince Hector could have his army slaughter him instantaneously.

In conclusion Achilles was one of the greatest warriors in the Trojan war and the few character traits above tells part of why he is so well known and who he was as a person, as portrayed in the movie Troy. Obviously these are not all of the traits that Achilles has, but these are the most meaningful.