IELTS: some actions should be taken to preserve the endangered languages

Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is not uncommon to see that several languages become extinct every year. There has been much discussion as to whether it is essential to prevent the trend. Some people argue that the preservation of endangered languages is not important since fewer languages can make life easier.

Advocates of this believe that if language barriers were removed, it would be easier for people to interact with each other in terms of academic communication, diplomacy, trade, education, etc. Thus the efficiency of communication would be facilitated significantly. Misunderstanding would be less likely to occur and some unnecessary conflicts could be avoided.

However, others disagree by saying that language is closely bound up with culture. When a language disappears, it is impossible that the culture related to it can survive. As a result, with some languages dying out, the cultural diversity will be reduced. For example, Mayan civilization is on the brink of extinction simply because virtually no experts can decipher the language carved on the sculptures accurately. Consequently, it is difficult for us to explore such a mysterious culture which reveals the wisdom of our ancestors.

More importantly, giving up speaking a language deprives us of different ways of looking at the world. Anybody who speaks two languages knows that some things are just untranslatable from one language to another. People will experience a gap or a loss of certain concepts, certain ways of thinking about the world when translating directly between two languages.

In conclusion, although fewer languages bring much convenience to our daily life, yet the negative effects, which include diminishing cultural diversity and losing different ways of thinking, can by no means be neglected. I strongly recommend some actions should be taken to preserve the endangered languages.