IELTS Writing 2 - adapting to the climate crisis rather than trying to prevent it from happening

Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Climate crisis is one of the most serious global issues today. For many people the preferred course of action is to adapt to it rather than to try to prevent it from happening. I completely disagree with this idea as it is will be harder to find a suitable place to live for humans and adaptation is unattainable for other species.

To begin with, without actions the climate change will gradually worsen and people will not be able to live with it. As the global temperature rises, some places will become too hostile for people and they will be forced to move somewhere else. People's ability to adapt and survive has its limits. For instance, the expansion of deserts has already sped up and many tropical islands are sinking under the ocean level. Global crisis leads to the disappearance of lands suitable for human settlements.

Even if the humankind survives, animals and plants will not. Our planet's ecosystem is extremely fragile and many species of flora and fauna, in contrast to humans, cannot find a way to adapt to rapid changes in temperatures and will go extinct. Photos of starving polar bears have already shown the dire consecuences of elevated temperatures. In some regions of Arctic, these animals are unable to find food as their prey have migrated to cooler northern regions, leaving the bears behind.

There is a thought that a suitable way to deal with global warming is to find a way to tolerate it, instead of taking actions to stop it. However, this approach will not only result in disappearance of areas suitable for humans, but also will aloow animal and plant life to go extinct. Therefore, I strongly disagree with accepting this approach.