IELTS task 2 - adolescents have to take part in campaigns to contribute to the community

Teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the community

Some people believe that all adolescents have to take part in campaigns to help the community. Personally, I do not agree with this view.

There are various reasons why people believe that teenagers have to participate in social activities. Firstly, it is beneficial for the individual teenager who was shy, withdrawn and unconfident. For example, my current leader is an introverted person was at a loss to help deal with problems. Secondly, it is easier for them to apply to various universities and jobs because of their experiences and maturity. Finally, the society where there is a range of deprived areas and disadvantaged people need their help.

In spite of these arguments, I would argue that young people should not be forced to do unpaid work in their spare time. From my perspective, there are various ways to help the local community such as donating books or collecting money. Moreover, the youth can attain knowledge or sharpen their skills in their free time rather than work involuntarily. This helps them become wonderful citizens who will be wonderful sponsors for charity funds in the future. Last but not least, it is more effective for them to take part in social activities voluntarily.

In conclusion, the charity indeed makes our community better, but in my opinion, any compulsion in helping others should not be forced.