IELTS-do ads make us to buy more or is it a need?

I haven't really done good work on this essay. Still all reviews are welcome.

question-

Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

answer-

All Humans desire to live an easy and smooth life, not having to do too much of hard work. Scientific and technological developments have resulted in creation of highly advanced equipments and better commodities. Media has played a very important role in promotion of these consumer goods like T.V., refrigerators, shampoos , computers ,soaps and so on. However , it is the human desires which has resulted in the high sales of these goods , irrespective of their prices and advertising.

Advertisements play an important role in promotion of any product. Media has reached every corner of the world. Right from a villager to a top industrialist , everyone knows the power of media. The advertisements give a real good kick start for launching any product. However, spending on advertising is not a guarantee for the success of a product. A product will be successful only if it meets the required standards.

The high sales of consumer goods is because it has become a necessity in life. Goods like T.V. , refrigerators, computers, etc., provide us with sophistication and convenience. The popular consumer goods were once considered as luxury, but now it has become a necessity. It is the need of the people which has promoted the sale of these goods. For instance, can we really imagine a world without television, computers, toiletries etc? These are the basic needs , one requires no guidance to know if they really need it or not.

Consumer goods are in high demand also because they are time saving and meet high standards. With more people doing jobs, it is very important to save time. Sophisticated devices save a lot of time and are easy to use. These consumer goods have become the heart of the modern society.

However, these developments have resulted in over-dependence on these goods. People rely too much on them and don't want to do any effort. But everything has its pros and cons. The amount of ease and facilities these goods give, surely over-shadows their disadvantages.

Thus , its the real need and desires of the people which has resulted in high sales of products. Advertisements can give initial advantage only, but can never make a low quality good successful in the long run. Modern lifestyle has resulted in making the consumer goods a necessity and people really need them.