IELTS: Ads result in high sales of well-received consumer goods. Agree or disagree?

Instructions:

Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevent examples from your own knowledge.or experience. Write at least 250 words

It is generally considered in my country that high sales of well-received consumer goods are the result of powerful advertising. Yet, others are against this viewpoint, arguing that the demand of the whole society plays a crucial role.

Advertising, as a matter of fact, serves as a tool to arise the temptation of purchasing. The effect a good advertising can achieve, indeed, does contribute to the promotion in sales of certain popular consumer goods. The reason is that the image of a certain corporation is often bolstered through advertisements, which strengthen the public trust. Therefore, it is the trust from the consumers that enables the enterprise to sell more goods.

From my perspective, however, the real needs of the society play a significant role in promotion of sales, which outweighs ads. Throughout the century, the demands of customers have been leading the trend of purchasing. From daily necessities like clothes to smart phones, the issue shed its skin, while the bones stay the same. Without the real needs from consumers, the high sales of certain products are destined to be temporary. Popular consumer products such as desserts, for example, do boast a group of customers, yet they are not necessarily the daily need of everyone. On contrast, staples such as rice and noodles enjoy high sales from season to season because of continuous demands.

In conclusion, instead of polished advertisements, the key to high sales lies in the essential demands of the society. Advertisements, to some extent, only function as catalysts to sales promotion. Lurking in the phenomenon, without doubt, are the demands, which is the key of the key in sales increase.