An IELTS about ads targeting younger and younger children

There are many advertisements directed at children, such as snacks, toys and other goods. Parents argue that children are under pressure. Advertisers claim that the advertisements provide useful information.

Nowadays, advertisers are increasingly targeting younger and younger children in an effort to establish "brand name preference" at as early an age as possible. Parents are concerning about the negative effects of advertising on children, while advertisers claim that they provide significant information. From my perspective, I fully support the parent's opinion.

To begin with, a recent research has shown that young children are cognitively and psychologically defenseless against adverting. They do not understand the notion of intent of sell and frequently accept advertising claims at face value. Increasingly, fast food companies are using toy tie-ins with major children's motion pictures to try to attract young people. Several studies document that young children request more junk food after viewing commercials.

According to a survey conducted by Harvard University, young people view more than 40,000 ads per year on television alone and increasingly are being exposed to advertising on the internet, in magazines, and on TV. This exposure may contribute significantly to childhood obesity, poor nutrition, and cigarette and alcohol use. Exposure to tobacco adverting may be a bigger risk factor than having family members and peer who smoke and even undermine the effect of strong parenting practices. Besides, beer ads are commonly shown during sports events and seen by millions of children, creating both brand familiarity and more positive attitudes toward drinking in children.

What's worse, another area of sensitive advertising content involves commercials for violent media products such as motion pictures and video games. Such ads contribute to a violent media culture which increases the likelihood of youngster's aggressive behavior. And which may lead to lethal social problems like teenager crime.

To sum up, considering the detrimental effects of most ads on children, it's noncontroversial and would be essential to teach young people to become critical viewers of advertising in all forms.