Advanced technology can prevent and solve the crime

Crime rate and technologic solutions

The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advance technology which can prevent and solve crime. Do you agree or disagree?

(can you check for my writing as well as helping me understand when to use the crime, a crime, the crimes, crimes)

It is often argued that people nowadays have been witnessed a dramatic decline in the number of offenders compared to the past. Although I believe that technological improvements have been positively contributed to this phenomenon, I partly think, as the technological evolution, the crimes are also evolving to other sophisticated forms which are harder to prevent.

On the one hand, the incidence of crime is significantly decreasing with the assistance of high tech. Nowadays, the availability of developed technologies is helping citizens and authorities to easily detect unusual activities and protect themselves as well as their property from the robbery. To be more specific, from public to private places such as streets, center malls, shops and houses have security systems installed; for example, the surveillance cameras. These useful equipment benefits to hindering the possible thefts and to identify the stealers. DNA testing and fingerprinting are also supportive tools for the police tracing the culprits. However, most of the crimes which show a descent in number are likely to be the traditional crimes whose active areas can be quickly specified such as fraud, theft, blackmail, forgery,...

On the other hand, we are living in the era of internet; everyone is relying on it for most of activities ranging from chatting to friends to transferring money. This vast network is an appealing target for illegal activities. As a result, the traditional crimes are shifting over to the new form of crime which is cyber crimes. This crime emerged along with the rapid development of the hi-tech; cyber crimes use the internet as a tool to steal information in the individual and nation level, negatively effect on one's reputation and risk the nation finance's health as well. Therefore, the diminishing of the traditional crime can be the sign of the rising of a more dangerous one, cybercrime.

In conclusion, it is true that advanced technology assists in reduce a considerable number of traditional-offenders, there is still challenging to arrest the new high - profile cybercrime whose damage can be within a large scale.