What are the advantages of being bilingual?

being proficient in two languages is beneficial

According to recent census data, more than 60 million Americans - nearly 20% of the US population - are bilingual. Have you ever stop to think: why we should learn a foreign language? From my perspective, being proficient in two languages rather than just one has some defining advantages in an increasingly globalized world, which are demonstrated in the job market, cultural life and some influences on individuals' mental features.

As regards the first, knowing more than one language makes you a big boost in your workplace, where your competitiveness will enhance and your salary will be noticeably higher than your monolingual colleagues. Being bilingual increases your chances of being hired by recruiters from international companies. This is explained by the fact that a resume with an enclosed foreign language certificate stands out and puts you to the top of potential employee list, and your capability of communicating in a language that is different from your mother tongue presented during the interview makes your performance impressively perfect. Furthermore, being able to speak a foreign language, employees are in a higher demand and consequently come with a higher price tag. A website investigating in salary found that companies whose differentials in payment policies based on bilingualism usually pay 5 -20% more per hour for bilingual staff.

Secondly, because language and culture are intertwined, a bilingual can also be a cultural learner who is able to engage with other cultures through a process of exploration and subsequently becomes a cultural influencer. Many simultaneous bilinguals learn a new language while also learning about the culture associated with the language, which enriches their knowledge about a specific society's customs and behaviors and teaches them to respect the different backgrounds. Curiosity about other cultures is conscientiously fulfilled through traveling to the country where your second language is spoken, watching movies, reading books and even researching directly about them. From that, bilinguals are supposed to be cultural influencers with a noble mission that transmitting culture to the community. Typically, we can see some speakers confidently introducing their country's specialties on TED TALK stages, who come from Vietnam, the Philippines, China, etc. and speak English.

One more benefit is remarkably illustrated in the bilingual brains, which are said to be more healthy, complex and active than the monolingual's ones. Using the second language on a regular basis helps your brain creates a higher density of grey matter that contains mostly neurons and synapses, and more activities in certain religions. According to scientists, the bilingual brain is also able to delay the onset of some mental diseases, such as Alzheimer's and dementia, by as much as five years. Moreover, the brain of a two-language speaker is more proactive in executive function, problem-solving and switching between tasks.

In conclusion, career benefits, biculturalism, and a better brain are some aspects that considerably reflect the advantages of being bilingual. Knowing more than one language will open the door for you to catch on the prevalent international trends and become global citizens in the near future.