[TOEFL] The advantages and disadvantages of building a large factory near community.

TOPIC : A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community.

Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your position.

Living near a factory or an industrial area is not a good idea. Every resident prefers a cool and pleasant community. But what if, one day, there is an announcement from a company informs that your hometown area will have a large factory. This will cause a lot of changes to your place. From my point of view, I certainly oppose to build such a factory or industrial plant near my home.

Evidently, there are several effects on people who reside in this hometown. In term of disadvantages, it will widely affect to the environment, such as air pollution, contaminated water and annoying sounds from the process of production in the factory. Some of the consequences may lead to an illness. For example, people who live in this area unavoidably take the toxic fumes from the factory every day. Sooner or later they will have problems with their respiratory system. Moreover, although water is universally realized that it has various benefits to man, consumption bad-quality water does not provide any advantage. It might be contaminated by the chemical substances from the industry. Hence, when people drink it, the adulterated things can get into their bodies. This is the one of causes to have diarrhea. All these effects will impair the quality of life.

Turning to consider the advantages in case of the rural area, the factory or a plant may give people more convenient. When their area becomes industrial, it means public utilities are more accessible. For instance, they will have better transportation. Some area will have more convenient stores. Since the number of people increase due to the employees from the factory, these alterations are to response the people's needs. However, people have to understand in that convenient lives must be exchanged with their peaceful hometown.

In summary, it seems to have more disadvantages than advantages from building a factory. Surely I am the one who does not appreciate to have a hometown surrounding with industries. Because I still want to live in a nice and cozy community and do not want anyone to make any damages on environment.