IELTS Task 2: Advantages and Disadvantages - Children enjoy playing video game.

Hey, this is my first time to submit essay on this website. It quite hard for me to improve writing skill so i hope i can learn from you guys. Thank you! And here is the topic:

Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games

What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children?

As the world adjusts its sails to the winds of the Fourth Industrial Revolution, computers have become a huge breakthrough in human life, which has led to a debatable issue - more and more offspring are using computers as a way to entertain themselves. Playing digital games would certainly provide many benefits but it's important to pay attention to any possible drawbacks.

On the one hand, the positive aspects of gaming could go far beyond finding a sense of enjoyment. First, playing video games is a key strategy for coping with stress that can help children to manage negative feelings like anger and misery. To be specific, players could accomplish attainable objectives in the game, which help create feelings of gratification. Second, contrary to conventional beliefs that playing video games is intellectually lazy and sedating, it turns out that playing these games promotes cognitive abilities, among which action and 3D games are typical examples. A recent study by Cambridge University found that gamers exhibit a better range of analogy, processing speed, and mathematical intelligence than non-gamers do.

On the other hand, there are some negative impacts when offspring devote much of their free time to playing digital games. Like other media, video games have been the subject of objections for depictions of violence and criminal activities. There is ample evidence to show that young people who have had greater exposure to violence while gaming ended up behaving more aggressively towards people in the social environment. Moreover, being so enthralled in the fantasy world of games for hours could lead to game addiction, which might harm children's health. For example, addicted minors will often avoid sleeping or eating proper meals to continue gaming, which could eventually lead to a sleep disorder or diet-related health issues.

In conclusion, although people have different perspectives on the utilization of computers in entertainment for children, it is worth considering that this advancement has its own merits and demerits.