What are the advantages and disadvantages of children having a school uniform?

pros and cons of uniforms at schools

In the contemporary decades, there were controversies about the students' dress code when going to school. Meanwhile, several schools have rigidity in wearing uniforms, others have loose surveillance about it. In general, this regulation brings about both merits and demerits and this essay will discuss these aspects.

To begin with, it can be seen that there are numerous benefits of compliance with school outfits. Firstly, The specific dress code may diminish the wealth gap and promote general equality. Living in an epoch where social positions constantly intertwine, uniforms will standardize all in a certain framework. This can make rich pupils not follow expensive brand-name clothes, and simultaneously, students who are in impoverished circumstances don't feel self-deprecating. Secondly, school uniforms can create an identity and make it easier to recognize. Institutions can readily manage their pupils through their uniforms. For instance, if strangers go to the school with negative intentions, staff will easily recognize and prevent them, or in a chaotic crowd of competition, uniforms will become the signature for identifying certain participants coming from what institution. Besides that, school clothes not only can create formality in school but also avoid cases in that students wear inappropriate costumes: short skirts, tight tops, or bright-colored hairstyles.

On the contrary, adopting rigorous regulations results in students can't express their own styles. Following strict attire rules will make pupils not have the right to select their favorite outfits or show their aesthetic tastes. As a consequence, plenty of them will feel frustrated because of not being in freedom of choice. What is more, some uniforms can lead to inconvenience to the pupils since a number of school outfits are unsuitable for outdoor activities. A noteworthy example is the "ao dai" - a traditional costume of VietNam and also uniforms of every high school female - occasionally causes discomfort when moving, and at the same time, danger when driving.

In conclusion, regardless of the disadvantages of uniforms' obligations in some schools, I strongly believe that the pros of dress code surpass its cons.