IELTS2: advantages and disadvantages of distance learning; time and transportation / useless classes

Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantage of this development this overweight the disadvantages?

Essay

The development of Internet and technology have provided many opportunities for student around the world to attend a class where it is not compulsory to attend in person. These program are most introduced by universities and educations globally, many courses are available due to the need of students. I strongly think that the benefit of this program can pass the disadvantages of it.

First of all, it cannot be denied that not every students have time and transportation to go to class, the online courses have solved this problem perfectly. This course give the ability for pupils to learn everywhere, anytime and economize the fees. The requirement of these are very simple, it prevent unnecessary stages for users. For example, I need a fast course in learning Biology but my school was not provide it or it was so far that I cannot attend class regularly, which will affect the result of my study, so I enquire for an online class by a well-known institution. The fees was reasonable and the quality was acceptable, on top of that, it was in charged by a famous profession in that school.Moreover, distance learning gives student opportunity to access the lesson in case they cannot attend to class. In addition, these online learning is more and more popular to students as well as their parents.

On the other hand, the normal class has also have many benefits too. Normal classes are class with real teacher, who will take of us until the end of the semester. There is an ethical argument about replacing teachers with robotic technology. However, this is the worst idea ever. Teacher are human, maybe they are not perfect at all individuals, but they have emotion, they care for their students, while the robot are cold-blooded, emotionless, all they do is following a program written from the beginning. This is no different from online classes, if teachers are not keep in touch with their students in person, they cannot help the students to improve their skills. Furthermore, quality of the course is also a hard question to answer, the increasing of students' need have led to to uncontrollably wide-spreading of unofficial institution. Online course is like gamble, if you are lucky, you can attend a well-qualified class with enthusiasm teacher, but if you are not, it will be a waste of time and money.

In conclusion, the advantages and disadvantages of the online distance learning is unavoidable. However, I strongly believe that the advantages of this program can overweight the disadvantages. From my point of view, the acknowledge of these program can help students and elders prevent the useless classes, and when a class is opened, it should be assure to achieve the qualification for the students.