IELTS Writing Task 2: Advantages and disadvantages of foreign language learning

studying a new language since primary school

Could anyone advise should I also talk about the disadvantages of learning foreign language at secondary school as well OR it fine for me to only focus on discussing the advantages and disadvantages of learning foreign language at primary school only?

I aim at band 6.5, how far is my writing from this score? How can I improve to get this score?

Greatly appreciate your help for checking my essay and answering my question.

Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Lately, increasing number of students start to study a new language at primary school instead of secondly school. In my opinion, this trend has more advantages than disadvantages.

There are several benefits that children can enjoy by learning a foreign language at primary school. Firstly, primary school students have more spare time to study things other than the compulsory subjects in school. In general, the teaching schedule of primary school is less packed than the one in secondary school. They usually have less homework and tests that means they have sufficient time do to revision and exercises after taking the foreign language lesson which are fundamental steps for a beginner to master the language. Secondly, primary education is mainly aim at exploring the interest and talents of a kid, many researches proof that it is the best and most efficient timing for children to learn a new language. Finally, there is no doubt that it takes many years for an individual to become sophisticated in using a language, the earlier a child start studying the language, the earlier they can master the language and enjoy the advantage brought by that.

Admittedly, there is minor problem for primary student to learn a new language. Hardly could we become an expert of a language by simply memorizing the vocabularies and sentence structure. It also required the capability in using wide range of grammar in a flexible way which is obviously a too advance task for a primary school children.

In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of studying a new language since primary school outweighed the disadvantages.