What are the advantages and disadvantages of going to the university? Discuss both views.

pursuing tertiary education - is it still worthy?

(Please help me with my ielts writing essay below. Thank you ! )

In recent days, pursuing tertiary education is one of the ideal ways to succeed. In other words, the certifications gained from university can be a passport to apply for any job placements easier. However, I suppose that this trend could have both positive and negative consequences for our society.

It can be seen that nowadays, going to the colleges or universities will be a strength to seek for jobs easier, especially for fresh graduate students because almost employers from small companies to international incorporations always feel more favorable with candidates who have an excellent educational background rather than people who do not. Besides, more and more people pursuing higher education can contribute positively to boost the economy of their nation. For instance, once people got a graduate degree from university or college, they can open the door to better employment prospects and can earn lucrative money to improve their quality of life. In this way, the state budget to pay for the cost of living of impoverished families could be reduced and the money will be used for other purposes such as improving infrastructure and constructing public amenities.

Nevertheless, pursuing tertiary education is likely to have some certain drawbacks that affect directly to our society. One of the main problems is the lack of workforce in manual works. In the UK, for example, people nowadays are interested in office work or noble careers such as doctors, teachers, and professors that lead to a shortage of numbers of manual workers like plumbers. As a result, the services are therefore had to be paid with the exorbitant price. The second issue is that people pursuing higher education nowadays are tend to focus only on academic knowledge but forgot to gain hand-on experiences, which is probably as important as specialized knowledge to apply for better jobs in the future.

In conclusion, while going to university is the ideal way that leads people to success, I think that this option also has drawbacks in some circumstances.