Advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world? (ielts writing)

The global language

One can subscribe to the notion that people will use English as the only language in the world because of its ubiquitous usage. To a certain extent, although I agree that this will promote economy and understanding, I also think that there will be some drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are several shreds of evidence why having one global language is beneficial. One of the primary ones is a good economy. In other words, when everybody all uses one language, trading and doing business will be easier since numerous barriers will be taken down. Another reason that a single linguistic will be advantageous is that it will help people understand each other. To be specific, communicating and understanding information will no longer be a problem, and therefore it will push learning among students.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of one language that individuals should take into consideration. First and foremost, it would mean that millions of other linguistic teachers will lose their jobs as everyone only have to study one language in the curriculum system. Secondly, it will result in the collapse of cultures. Traditions and customs are one of the joys that the world has to offer. As a result, they will eventually disappear when only one language is left.

In conclusion, while there are plus points to having one global language, too much will be lost as a result. Maintaining local languages and cultures should be prioritized to ensure a rich world heritage for future generations.