IELTS TASK 3 (The Advantages and Disadvantages of Small Family)

There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family.

What are some of the benefits and drawback of having small family rather than a large family?

These days, people prefer having a small family to a large family. While a small family has its financial advantages, it can actually be psychologically harmful for children.

One of the advantages of having a small family comes from economic sector because the financial costs of having a small family are lesser than a large family. A small family doesn't need to use a lot of money on meals, drinks, energy bills, and the other daily needs. The food intake in a small family isn't the same as in a large family. While a large one can cost much money on food, a smaller one can just manage small amounts of money because there are not many mouths to be satisfied with.

However, a small family can be psychologically harmful for children because of the big amount of attention and love their parents give to them. Due to the small number of children they have, parents can give more attention and love to their daughters and sons, but this can lead to another problem. Children from small families are often more spoilt than children from bigger families. They might find it harder to make friends and socialize because they are used to depend on their parents.

In short, living in a small family can be more beneficial for economic purpose but it also can harm the children's psychological conditions. I assume that if parents can teach their children correctly and properly, the drawbacks of having a small family can be avoided.