Essay Task 2 about the advantages and disadvantages of social media

decline in direct interaction between people

Topic: The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Controversies surrounding the impact of social media on the interaction amongst individuals in the community have never diminished. I wholeheartedly agree that the rapid development of telecommunication has, to an extent, led to some negative outcomes. Nonetheless, the preponderance of the merits of social media when compared to negative ones is irrefutable.

To commence with, possessions of smartphones in the modern world are so commonplace that users may have an inclination towards online communication rather than by direct one in real lives. While some may argue such predilection for online interaction can affect one's ability to communicate, I firmly believe that such worry is so inconsequential when compared with the advantages that social network brings. Firstly, the amount of time allocated to real-life meetings, get-togethers, etc. can significantly be reduced by online meetings and communication. Social media has made it so easy for one to contact any person just by a call or a message instead of traditional meetings. Therefore, the working productivity can sharply be increased. People have more time to finish tasks and work at either schools or companies. Secondly, social media entitles us to make new friends and, in some special circumstances, romantic relationships can be developed online that can possibly lead to face-to-face dating later. Traditionally, the amount of time needed to form and nurture a network of relationships is so long, whereas social media can do it almost at once.

On the other hand, a sense of alienation may arise from the state of people focusing too much on their smartphones. For instance, it is usual to see people on a bus or a train occupying with their smartphones, scrolling Facebook for news, or playing games for entertainment. A feeling of awkwardness may unintendedly germinate and nurture in a negative way for those who are not using their mobile phones. I believe this tendency is inevitable and seemingly inexorable in such a world where social media has become so phenomenally popular. A belief that everyone should put their phones down and start to communicate seems to be absurd and implausible.

In summary, I concur that the inevitable decline in direct interaction and undesirable drawbacks of social media is of little concern when compared with the predominance of advantages and values.