IELTS writing task2: the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

eco-awareness in energy industry

undefined

Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar system?

When it comes to the power resources, fossil fuels, coal and nuclear power play the important role in today's world. However, they all have their own limitations, for instance, fossil fuels emits carbon to the atmosphere, accelerating global warming and as it is consumed, it gone forever. As for nuclear power, we are concerned about the safety issue and how to deal with the radioactive pollutions. As the result, many governments and experts start to find other alternative sources of energy.

With its renewable, abundant, sustainable qualities, solar system starts to gain its influence on the world stage. It's definitely a better energy resource compared with traditional resources. Firstly, we don't have to worry about one day the energy resource will be run out, because the sunlight is unlimited. Secondly, there are no noise impact, because there are no moving parts in the devices, which has advantages over other green-techs such as wind turbines. Lastly, the most importance is there is no contaminations and toxic chemicals to pollute the environment.

On the contrary, expensive devices, such as the solar panel on the roof and solar cell are a big amount of money for average families and governments should also plan an large budget on the constructions, like solar storage. Besides, we know that the sunlight is limited in certain time and it's alway difficult to predict nature rhythm, in this case, its intermittence also brings some inconveniences.

To sum up, with the growing of eco-awareness, i would prefer that people should expand the usage of solar system in view of the environmental friendly aspect. However, in order to promote the using of solar system, governments should give more financial support on the basic constructions at the same time.