IELTS: Advantages and Disadvantages of Student Gap Year - teenagers dillema

In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

work, travel and the choice of education

As a teenager one must have a clear understanding of one's career goal. One might ask, "What is the right age to decide this"? Well, the best time is the time after passing your high school and before deciding on what stream to choose in university. Although a lot of kids decide their path by getting influenced by their older siblings, a few countries believes that the best way to decide is by gaining your own experience by picking up some job or by travelling. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this approach.

Firstly, a workplace teaches you how to take responsibilities and complete your task with utmost commitment. Later in life when a student will pick up a subject in the university, he will try to complete it with persistence. Secondly, they will also be able to save some money to finance their university fees. We have also observed that most of the high school kids behave with immaturity and irresponsibility. This may be due to their dependence on their parents for all their daily chores. This is the reason why they need to travel for a while and live on their own. When they will have to manage their day-to-day activities on their own in a foreign land, they will learn to be more self-reliant and decisive. Therefore, in is very important to encourage them to work or travel.

Although income will help them in some ways, but what job will a high school qualified get in the market? Not better than a waiter in a restaurant or a security guard. A constant source of income, even if it is a low, brings with it a reluctance to stop it. The person will start losing focus and will not even try to return to his studies. At the same time when we look at the burgeoning cost of education in most of the countries, it will be criminal to burden parents, already grappling to fulfil the daily needs, with additional cost of travel. So, it is better that a student completes his university studies as soon as possible and get a better job with a better qualification.

After looking at both the sides of the grass, I think that work and travel does give perspective to your choice of education. But, at the same time one also need to take into account the financial situation of one's family to decide over that.