IELTS TASK 2: The advantages and disadvantages of taking a job between school and university

Some suggest that young people should take a job for a few years between school and university. Discuss what the advantages and disadvantages might be for people who do this.

These days and ages, graduated students are expected to take a part in working world for several years before they continue their formal education in university. it is immensely clear that young generation will present their best performance in a higher level of education if they have the mature practical skills and own saving accounts. However, it brings negative effects on their life because most of them are positioned in the low-paid job and working period can reduce the quality of their academic skills.

Working for a while provides a large opportunity for young people to construct their life skills in the real situation since they interact with many people who have various characteristics. it teaches them building an attractive communication, controlling their time, and handling money which these abilities are very essential in their future. There could be the best time for adolescents to earn money by their own sweat. It leads them to be independent people since their salary can be allocated for their future education, like reaching the best university. Therefore, having a job gives many positive effects for young people.

However, it is difficult for people who had passed the school to be accepted in the well-paid occupation since most companies require high requirements. Applicants who have the highest degree have a large probability to be chosen in good position, while the graduated students are placed in a lower level. Another drawback is there is a limitation of productive time based on the capacity of their brains. In the working period, they are rare to exercise their brains, then it causes their previous knowledge are forgotten easily. It is a serious problem as in the university they will be taught complex subjects. Hence, they lack of the appropriate jobs and academic skills since they prefer working before entering the university.

To sum up, it is true that having a job before attending a higher level of formal education is important for graduated students since it provides additional income and some social skills which play crucial role in their future. Nevertheless, working can decrease their cognitive comprehension in the university. it would be better for young generation if they can make balance their careers and their education.