Advantages and disadvantages of using personal electronic devices in learning

electronic devices in classroom

In recent years, individual electronic gadgets such as tablets, smartphones or laptops have gained enormous popularity. The use of these devices involves a set of drawbacks that need improving, but their benefits are much more noticeable.

On the one hand, exerting digital devices in learning may have some major disadvantages. The greatest downside of these gadgets is the distraction happening to students. Many students feel so bored in lessons as games, music and Facebook seem to be more intriguing to them. In fact, a study found that on average students check their phones more than 11 times a day in class. Obviously, it leads to a decline in their test results. Another negative aspect I want to mention is the prevalence of improper information. Since these devices are connected to the Internet, users are easily absorbed in negative and unofficial sources of information. For instance, false knowledge from an inappropriate book online may mislead students who read it.

On the other hand, although utilizing electronic devices in the domain of studying has several drawbacks, they offer users a variety of benefits. Initially, compared to traditional learning methods, these implements supply students with a more diverse source of information, pictures and videos, which assist in illustration while studying. By means of tablets, phones and laptops, students are more likely to have a better grasp of lessons. Furthermore, there are numerous applications utilized in studying. Rather than spending time on textbooks, teachers can allow students to listen to podcasts or improve pronunciation through voice recognition apps. Another point in favour of advantages is that electronic gadgets prompt students' self- reliance. Though there are questions whether numerous online sources of information are reliable or not, they are still served as helpful materials for students to learn on their own. For example, they are able to find the meaning of a word by looking up in a dictionary on their phone instead of asking teachers.

In short, exerting individual electronic devices in classroom has been a successful step in the revolution of learning methods. Despite the disadvantages these gadgets may bring, they still do more good than harm.