The advantages of English spreading as a global language will continue overweight the disadvantages.

English as a global language

In today's world, it is an undeniable fact that English is now spreading as an international language. Some people believe that the benefits outweigh its drawbacks while others dispute that it still has significant disadvantages. I completely agree with the former statement and here are some reasons why.

Firstly, English is a common language to facilitate communication. As United States is currently one of the most developed country in the world, it is indisputable to say that English is the main language everyone would choose to speak when they do business with foreign partners without any assistance of interpreters. Especially when traveling, English is the useful language for everyone who love to explore different exotic cultures.

Nowadays, most schools are added English as an academic subject that students have to learn. So the advantage is that English can facilitate the transfer of knowledge. Documents and learning materials written in English are widespread access. Moreover, English can help with knowledge transfer technological advances from affluent nations to developing countries.

However, some people say that the dominance of English as a global language has its negative effect. English would demise ethnic minority languages which lead to the loss of cultural diversity. In my opinion, the spread of English as a universal language does not necessarily entail the disappearance of other minority languages since people tend to use English in formal contexts which in academic environment and their mother tongue in formal contexts like at home or communicate with friends.

In conclusion, the development of English is a positive global trend. I strongly believe that English will support the communication system of every nation and makes the demerits less significant.