IELTS writing task 2 Advertisements are extremely successful at persuading people to buy things

Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Modern advertisements can be convincing and prevalent in people's daily life. Although people may have watched them too often to pay any heed, I still agree with those who believe that customers can be easily persuaded to purchase the products promoted in these advertisements.

There are a couple of real-life situations that can cause people to omit the widely-seen advertisements. First, customers could have become familiar with the advertised products, especially those are repeatedly featured in radio jingles, TV commercials, and online pop-ups. Under such circumstances, people naturally get bored and may well turn their attention to somewhere else that is more interesting. Besides, our life is inundated with various advertising formats, such as the billboards, posters, and flyers, but due to a fast-paced life, we may simply do not have enough time to consume the information contained in these advertisements and eventually, develop a habit of ignoring what is being promoted.

However, modern advertisements can be convincing enough to spur a burning desire to own the featured goods among prospective buyers. I can think of two strategies that are being used to achieve this. The first one is to create a fantasy that using certain items can make our life more glorious. For example, we always see sportswear, cosmetics, and luxurious brands endorsed by celebrities. This leaves us an impression that we can live an ideal life like those famous people if we use the same products. At the same time, the advertisement designers utilize all sorts of techniques to make their advertised products visually and aesthetically appealling. They masterfully coordinate lights, colours, and backdrops to make the products so attractive that normally we cannot wait to buy and use ourselves.

In conclusion, we may not pay attention to advertisements due to familiarity and a busy lifestyle, but I believe that modern advertisements can be rather effective at encouraging us to purchase things, as they create a dream life that we long for and attract us sensually.