IELTS writing task 2: Advertisements - an increasingly popular trend present in the daily life

TOPIC:

Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life.

Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, advertisements are an increasingly popular trend for people's daily life. While I accept that the development of advertisement offers many benefits for society, consumers and businesses, its drawbacks cannot be overlooked.

On the one hand, there are several positive effects on the enhancement of advertisements. Firstly, due to advertisements are an integral part of commercial fields, this sector is likely to generate a diversity of employment opportunities. In other words, it provides occupations for artists, copywriters and other marketing-related vacancies as well as makes a significant contribution to the improvement of unemployment rate in society. Secondly, advertisements are a great tool for manufactures to disseminate information about their products or services to as many customers as possible, followed by an increase in sales for businesses. Besides, thanks to advertisements, customers can be well-informed about newly-launched products. For that reason, they can not only purchase innovative goods but also catch up with the lasted trends in the world.

On the other hand, advertising brings some negative influences for both consumers and businesses. To begin with, there are some companies willing to use advertisements to exaggerate or even distort the facts of their goods due to commercial purposes. As a result, consumers can experience the feeling of confusion about those items, affecting their belief in enterprises. Subsequently, when customers cannot resist the temptation of products that are advertised beyond their expectation, they, in likelihood, buy unnecessary items. Consequently, they could be easily addicted to shopping, which would seriously impact their budget. For example, beauty brands launch frequently their new products through advertising campaigns in order to attract and encourage women to buy those products which are considered as need on their daily basis to look beautiful even these items are so costly.

In conclusion, advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Although advertising activities bring some merits for society, enterprises and consumers, the demerits of them also should be considered.