Toefl essay: advertisements whose target is young children should be banned

Nowadays, the advertisements in our daily life become more and more various, even some adults cannot recognize which advertisements are fake and which are true, so how can a young child distinguish them? Therefore, I strongly agree that the advertisement which target is young children should be prohibited. There are some reasons can support my sentiment.

First, the advertisement whose potential customers are young children will exaggerate the uses of products, even decorate them with some magical effect. But these tricks can upset children when they realize all of these are fake and even worse, these maybe make children become dreamer. When I was a young child, I fancied that if I should eat the calcium tablet, I would become an adult in the next day; because every advertisement of calcium tablet I saw all showed me that a boy ate a calcium tablet and when he woke up in the morning, he became an adult! It was very fascinating for me at that time, so I was looking forward to becoming an adult in the next day; but I failed again and again and I did not know the reason why I could not as lucky as the boy. Until I have learned some biological knowledge, I finally figured out why I cannot mature in a short time. But I did not feel happy; because the thing that I had believed in so many years crashed suddenly made me desolate. If the advertisers do not overstate them, I would not suffer this kind of pain when I was a young child. So, the advertisements whose potential customers are young children may lead adverse result on children.

Second, because young children do not have the ability to distinguish whether the good is available or not; most time they will ask their parents to buy some useless goods and the only reason is that the advertisement of this good is very fabulous. And if the parents refuse their requests, children will keep crying loudly until you are convinced and sometimes they will use hunger strike because they know you will be softhearted at the end. However, if parents satisfy their reasonless requests over and over again, it will mislead the young children; they will develop a concept that using kindness of parents is a good way to get what they want but this concept is wrong. Once a child develop a wrong notion, it is very difficult to change it in the future. Consequently, advertisings which aim at children can hurt the young children indirectly.

In a word, advertisements whose target is young children should be banned.