IELTS WRITING TASK2: Advertising Discourages Personalities

is advertising making people similar?

Some people think that advertising discourages us from being different individuals, as all people want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People are flooded with commercial advertisements all the time either at home or outside. It is sometimes argued that people lose their identity by using similar products promoted in the advertisement. From my point of view, I completely disagree with this statement.

Thanks to advertising, both large and small companies have the opportunity to enable customers to know their products. People are exposed to kinds of products with different styles and patterns produced by the companies. At the same time of providing more choices for the consumers, advertisements also create the demands in the market to a large extent. By using products merchandised by diverse companies, people are distinguished by their clothing and accessories. On the surface, the one wearing a pair of Vans looks entirely different from another one wearing boots produced by UGG.

In addition, individual character comes more from the educational background and thoughts than wearing. The knowledge imparted in schools cultivates students' tough and tolerant personalities so that those who are well-educated tend to look more energetic and courteous than those wearing similar but ignorant and narrow. What's worse, when seeing the same advertisement of a fancy handbag, an ambitious university student may be inspired to earn money to afford it in the future while another youth who drops out of school in the childhood may commit a crime by robbing others of the bag. This is because people react differently to the same advertisement depending on their consciousness.

In conclusion, I do not agree that advertising is making people similar to each other. On the contrary, they have loads of choices to wear and do variously due to diverse advertisements.