IELTS: Does Advertising encourage people to buy in quantity rather than promoting its quality?

TOPIC: Advertising encourages people to buy in quantity rather than promoting its quality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, increasing advertisements surrounding our lives because of material prosperity. Many people suggest that promotion of advertising prefer what in quantity to what in quality. In my opinion, there are two different styles of advertisements, which aim to different merchandise and customers.

First of all, promotion in quantity is always linking to low prize, such as "buy one get one free", or a relatively lower prize for three items. It seems reasonable because it is an effective way for sellers who want small profits and quick returns. This kind of advertising is for popular products frequently rather than competitive products. Thus, the main purpose of promotion in quantity is to attract various consumers in large numbers. Moreover, advertisements in quantity and low prize are not only beneficial to some merchants, but also cost-efficient choices for certain consumers. For instance, what makes advertising more attractive to housewives is buying daily use in large quantity and much lower prize.

By contrast, there are also many kinds of advertisements for quality of merchants like some technological products and competitive products. As promotion in quantity links to lower prize, advertising in quality may be with high cost, which is suitable for certain sellers and buyers. Some competitive products need not lower their prize to cater everyone but a few people, with promoting in high quality. As a result, merchants and their advertisements would cultivate these customers who are interested in the unique quality of products, even though the prize is not cheap any more. For customers, if people were likely to buy something special, they might concentrate on the information about the quality of the products rather than the prize.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, it is probably true that adverting encourages people to buy in quantity more frequently than promoting its quality. As the promotion in quantity is for popular daily use, it should be repeated many times. However, the advertisements in quality could decrease the explosion as long as it cultivates the fixed consumers. Therefore, I believe that, no matter what kinds of advertising, if it was not the false advertising, it could exist reasonably.