Advertising encourages us to buy too many things we do not need. Agree or disagree?

unreasonable expenses

Advertisement is promoting people to pay money for numerous goods whether they are in need or not. While I accept that this may cause negative effects to the customers' financial status, I believe that many worse problems can come up if products are no longer advertised.

On the one hand, the result of mass advertising makes people spend almost all their monthly income or long-term savings on luxury goods. That the promotions about owning expensive watches, necklaces, rings and chains appear on most social media considerably entice them to purchase such jewelry. According to a global survey in 2015, 60% women in the world answered that they always lacked money after paying for their bijou to look successful and gorgeous because of appealing advertisements.

On the other hand, without any promotion, national economy will be significantly degraded and a part of citizens' life will become boring. Firstly, the revenue of almost every company will sharply fell, resulting in the national economic problems, because their products may not be known and purchased by the customers. Apple is a prime example, which has always held press conferences to promote their new gadgets before putting them on the market a few months later. Secondly, the main income, which comes from the sponsors, of almost TV channels and video makers on online platforms will disappear. Consequently, there may be no TV programs and online videos for people's entertainment demand.

In conclusion, it is certainly true that the spending of some purchasers may not be reasonable due to the power of marketing, but this is by no means that people around the world will have to face with serious issues from banning advertisements.