The advertising and the need of society, IELTS

Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflects the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which the are sold. To what extent you agree or disagree ?

With a large number of products have been sold, many people complaint that they are always buying unwanted goods because of effect of advertising. The commercials from TV programs, radios and websites, keep persuading people to purchase certain products. It is the commercials that become a motivation of purchasing rather than the needs to products.

Firstly, even though the influence of advertising has been admitted by most of us, some of them do not realize they tend to buying something that is promoted by merchants. For example, consumers are more likely to purchase a shampoo that is showed on a TV commercial with a refreshing and relaxing environment. But, most of times, it is not really necessary and costing too much. The ads is depriving consumer of right of selection by continuously persuading them from all medias they might reach.

Moreover, the pro ducting and broadcasting of advertising does cost the huge amount of society resources, which is totally unnecessary. The waste of resources should be invested in the development of products and eliminating the impacts to natural environment. Reusable or recycle plastic bag, for instance, is a good feature of products to allocate money into rather than advertising.

In addition, in order to boost the effectiveness of goods, the influence of advertising has to be minimized. The less effect of adverting are, the more focus on the needs and the functions can be achieved.

In conclusion, I agree the view that the advertising play a significant role in selling the consumer goods that are not the real need of the society.