Toefl essay: Advice from a supervisor is more valuable than some hint from a co-worker

Topic: People learn better from those at their own level-such as fellow students or co-workers-than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors.

My answer:

What would be the best way if a project deadline is up, and you are at a loss. Would it better to ask to your colleague or your manager? In my opinion, asking the supervisor for advice is desirable for the reasons that I will explore in this essay.

The first benefit is that we can get the better results from more knowledgeable people. As a novice worker, I asked my senior engineer about a complicated design problem. Having dealt with similar kinds of problems before, he gave me how to approach the task from scratch. His detailed explanation was very effective; the final result was so successful that my boss heaped praises on me in a monthly meeting in front of the staff. From this experience, I realized that getting an appropriate answer from a credible source is indispensable in other areas of life than profession. This is especially true if the problem at hand is of great importance such as legal advice, financial management, and health condition to prevent irreversible damage resulting from incorrect information. To sum up, relying on to a reliable person is a good strategy for increased chance of success.

Another point that supervisors can be of tremendous help is their social network broadened with their career. In the same workplace I mentioned above, I was having a problem with installing an inspection system for possible defects in a production line and turned to my manager, who didn't have any clue either. Not knowing how to solve it, he started asking around and found a person who saved us from there. The detector he suggested worked like a charm and the defection ratio could be under the specification. This taught me the importance of being connected with skilled individuals. In a critical moment, the most efficient way is to get a help from a right person. In that sense, having a solid and extensive network is crucial in troubleshooting, and borrowing a network of a far reaching person a is an effective strategy to handle many problems.

In sum, getting help from supervisor is a good way to deal with difficulties we may face. Not only does it reduce the probability of failure but it also compensates my limited circle. Experience is valuable, and borrowing it from wiser people makes life easier.