Age discrimination is an act of bias towards a person based on the individuals age. PTE Prep.

PTE Prep: AGE DISCRIMINATION OCCOURS WHEN A DECISION IS MADE ON THE BASIS OF A PERSON'S AGE.

Age discrimination is an act of bias towards a person based on the individuals age. This act can be of employment opportunities, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Untill recently, till about 4 decades ago, not a single country had any laws to protect a persons interest or rights based on age. But in current times almost all countries have laws to make sure no person is unfairly treated.

As in personal lives where elders are seen the back bone of a family and act as guide to the children and the young once at home, similarly the same stands true for any organisation. The older people bring in experience and resilience to an organisation. The older people bring in the stability that is important for an organisation to grow fast and steadly. With their experience the older, more experienced people act as pillars of experience and mentors to the young who are filled with euphoria and the zest to achieve the milestones and move ahead fast in life.

On the other hand, with the rapidly growing and fast moving world that we live in today, we need the youth, energy and enthusiasm of the young. The younger generation comes with the hunger to grow fast and are overflowing with newer ideas and tricks. But what they lack is the know-how and the right guidance. It is here that the valuable experience of older employess can help them chart the way to achieve what the youngs desire.

To conclude I feel that while the cohenrence between the old and young, between the stable and dynamics is need for each organisation to grow, it is important to make discrimination based on age or anything else non-tolerable and illegal.