Which age group is easier to be influenced by views of celebrities?

Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

importance of VIPs news

There is no doubt that the young and the elderly are quite different on various angles. But which group is easier to be influenced by views of celebrities is hard to answer. Some people consider the elderly are the ones who tend to be control by others' views because they are loyal to someone they follow. However, I agree that youngsters take opinions of celebrities more serious for following reasons.

Firstly, although the elderly tend to follow the rules set up by authorities, they stick to the rules even those rules are abolished. That is to say, the elderly are so stubborn that they deny changing. For instance, my grandfather, who was from mainland China, obey the most famous celebrity: president Chiang at that time, and he did care about president's opinion. In the rest of his life, he rejects changes of time and environments because the thoughts of president become his. It causes no one can change his mind.

Secondly, the young are eager to be look cool and awesome, easily been affected by the opinions of someone famous. At that ages, teenagers try their best to find a role model, and celebrities fit that kind of role. For instance, nowadays students at Taiwan start singing hip-hop because the hot TV show and many celebrities regard this type of music as the greatest. It was hard to image this trend few years ago because few people listened to hip-hop.

Last but not least, the young are a little naive, so they trust what someone well-known says. Young people are likely to be lack of critical thinking skills. They just jump up the wagon when someone well-known express his idea. On the other hand, the elderly are likely to doubt what celebrities say because they have been cheated through their entire lives. For this reason, young people tend to be manipulated by others' views.

In short, I feel the young consider opinions of celebrities more important than the older people do. That is because old people are too hard-headed to change and because younger people want to be as cool as celebrities.