Toefl: Do you agree or disagree? "Automobile has improved modern life"

Hi everybody.

I look forward to observing your precious comments on my essay.

Thanks all.

Automobile has greatly influenced living standards since it serves profound useful functions. From my vantage point, however, it has caused undesirable consequences, too. Severe environmental damages are emerged nowadays, air pollution is increasing all over the world, and people suffer from intensive traffic jam in big cities.

The main reason for my propensity of opposing the statement is that the increasing amount of cars all over the world has caused serious environmental problems to emerge. First of all, the amount of fossil fuel resources is declining due to the fact that they provide energy for automobiles to move. In addition, numerous amount of carbon dioxide is increasing resulting in intensified global warming. Furthermore, the pollution produced by cars contributes to harmful effects on the ozone layer which prevents ultraviolet rays from hurting humankind.

Secondly, air pollution is an inevitable outcome of using cars. This problem will become more serious as far as the number of automobiles is promoted each year. Needless to say, air pollution deprives hundreds of millions of people of breathing fresh air. People in big cities are seriously endangered because of the polluted air. They may suffer from many deceases such as asthma and bronchitis.

Last but not least, people really suffer from heavy traffic jams which can even result in extremely regretful incidents. To shed light on the issue, I would like to draw your attention to this example. Imagine an emergency situation in which an ambulance is carrying a patient undergoing a heart attack. What would probably happen if it was caught in long traffic jam? The result, doubtless, is regretful.

To sum up, in spite of the undeniable fact that automobile has ameliorated modern life in many ways, when the dangers and benefits are both contemplated, we can see that under most circumstances automobiles do more harm than good. Environmental damages, air pollution, and traffic jam are not the things to be easily neglected.