[IELTS TASK 2] (Agree and Disagree) Books and televisions

Some people believe that people who read books can develop more imaginations and language skills than those who prefer to watch TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

reading and TV watching influence on imagination and language skills

With the fast-growing rate and the increasing ubiquity of technology, books are replaced by televisions more and more as a way of entertainment. Some suggest that book readers have a higher ability in creativity and linguistic skills than those who watch TV as a hobby. In my opinion, people who read books more definitely are able to develop better imaginations and language skills.

First of all, when people read, they get a direct and excessive access to how words are used, therefore, gradually improve their language. They can see a variety of words and collocations in different contexts which are skillfully used by writers. By interacting with them many times through reading, readers will naturally "absorb" the words, acquiring a better understanding of how words are used in many ways and expanding vocabularies. This is why language learners are advised to read books in the language they learn because it is more natural for them to study vocabularies and how the language works.

Secondly, reading books, especially the fictional ones, can stimulate the readers' imagination effectively. A book's content has no boundaries and it has a special ability to take people to different worlds, even the wildest ones. Thus, their minds can be "more relax" and think out of the box as there is such no thing impossible or irrational in books. In addition, because books hardly have any visual aids or illustrations, readers have to imagine the scenarios and that also helps improve imaginations.

In conclusion, reading assists people in improving language skills and creativity because it gives them lively examples of how words are handled and push them to be more imaginative. Although watching televisions is more convenient and easy to enjoy with visual aids, it still cannot bring value as profound and educational as reading do.