Agree or not: Classmates are a more important influence than parents on a child's success at school.

Task:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Classmates are a more important influence than parents on a child's success at school

Write an essay of about 250 words to express your point of view on this topic.

My essay:

"Oh no, our child is not the one he was anymore! It was all because of those bad friends! We hold no influences over them any more!", some parents probably, being overly dramatic at their child's performance at school. The truth is, the parents role is just as crucial as the child's classmates.

Classmates, as known as people learning in the same class in a school, belong to the child's second social circle. During at least everyday's 8 most awaked hours, classmates learn, play, sleep, talk with others, helping each other through hard times and good times, affecting how healthy the learning environment is significantly. Moreover, because humans are social animals, many children would change the way they speak, act, think in order to fit in a group and have a sense of belonging. For students, the school is a miniature society where classmates is the majority. Our success depends heavily on how well we win the majority's hearts.

However critical is the role of the classmates, it doesn't mean the parent's influences on the students' performances is any smaller. There are 3 reasons support this claim. First, no matter how much fun the children had outside, they still come home at the end of the day. Parents' unconditional love and care is their greatest shield and moral sword to conquer the dragon of knowledge. Second, the influences of the man and woman who have spent time with them for years and taught them the first lessons cannot disappear over the night. It lurks deep in our unconscious and subconscious mind, affecting all our choices in life, including our hobbies, world views and why we choose those friends. Lastly, parents still hold the greatest authority over the child, legally and culturally. This authority can be used to guide the child on the right path to success at school.

In conclusion, parents and classmates play critical role on how well students do at school. Lacking one factor and our chance to success will decrease dramatically.