Agree/ Disagree -Financial education should be a mandatory component of the school program

Financial education should be a mandatory component of the school program. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is an obvious fact that financial aspect is an important part of the daily life, as an adult and even as a young individual. Every one of us has to make financial decision to spend money for vital needs such as food, clothes, home and more. The question is whether to start with financial education as part of school program or to postpone it for a later stage in life. For me, I support this idea that financial education for teenagers is necessary.

In Vietnam, many students have to learn far from home. Every month, they receive a limited allowance from their family. If they are trained about finance, they will consider to spent money reasonably. Which demand is really necessary and which isn't. People who are without financial knowledge will spend money freely. So maybe they buy something mostly worthless. Further more, they are easily in debt.

In addition, finance should be subject in school curriculum. During the course or after graduate, many young people begin trading in something. However, most of them are lacking capability of financial analysis. Commonly, the reason can be the lack of good foundations or not take in mean of financial terms. Therefore, starting from an early age, building a strong background, can very likely reduce risks in their business.

In conclusion, I agree that financial education should equip in school. However, preparing knowledge about finance should include awareness of real value of services and merchandise, otherwise it will make them so considerate and gradually become miserly.