IELTS Task 2: Agree- Disagree: Funding for wild animal protection

Budget for projects to save wild animals

Topic: The protection of wild animals has cost a huge sum of money, and this money should be spent on projects related more closely to human beings. Agree or not agree?

With the development of agriculture and technology, the natural habitats of wild animals have been largely destructed by human activities. I agree with the view that government should allocate public funding for wildling reservations.

Firstly, there is a strong humane argument that lives are equal despite its species. As all earth creatures rely on natural resources, which are limited and non-renewable, we should respect and help each other in terms of survival. Moreover, human population has been doubled since the end of World War II, excessive cultivation has used up natural resources, such as clean water and fresh air, and forced wild animals to leave their homelands where they have inhabited for generations. Thus, humans are accountable for the dramatically decreasing number of wild animals and even their extinctions.

Secondly, maintaining ecological diversity can bring huge benefits to human society, or vice versa. Every creature does not exist in isolation, or in other word, we affect each other and restrict each other. A telling example is that bats feed on insects that are detrimental to crops and they serve as critical pollinators of seeds and fruits that we eat. Meantime, they can also be dangerous because living in humid and dark caves means that their bodies are able to carry thousands of viruses that could be fatal to human-beings. In fact, human could completely stay away from these diseases by not interrupting bats lives. However, the popularity of tasting wild animals has provided those viruses with opportunities to put people in danger. The latest alerting examples are Ebola virus and COVID-19, both of which are originally found in bats.

Some believe that government should spend money on projects more related to human. However, I would argue that the well-beings of wild lives are strongly linked to our daily life.

In conclusion, a reasonable amount of budget should be allocated to projects protecting wild animals, as well as other important social programs.

All comments are appreciated.