IELTS:Agree or disagree? Patience is not a good thing;we should take actions at once.

Agree or disagree? Patient is usually not a good thing; we should take actions at once.

Hastiness and anxiety are the psychic disease of this era. While I accept that taking actions at once may be conductive to seize opportunities, I disagree that patience is not a great character of human being.

Taking every action at once is simply unrealistic and may cause many problems. Firstly, taking all actions at once is often linked to impetuous decisions. For example, if we impulsively buy a house without taking the geographical nature and the surrounding facilities into account, we will probably regret what you did. In order to avoid mistakes, we need to make decisions under careful considerations. Moreover, as taking action in a short time usually brings about psychological burden, we may easily make mistakes while working. For example, if we intend to write a 10,000 words academic report in one night, we normally produce a report with many mistakes such as grammatical errors. In reality, it may be hard for us to produce a result at once.

On the other hand, patience is the state of endurance and perseverance which are the character traits that will help us to achieve success. One obvious example is that sportsmen need to be patient in intense exercises on purpose to break a world record. It is impossible if the sportsman does not work hard with patience. In addition, patience is conductive to effective and well-organized thought. For example, Obama administration requires time to address fiscal cliff issue step by step rather than using dramatically measures on the hope of the economy recovering from recession immediately. Lastly, being patient helps us to control our emotions when faced with difficulties, which means that people with patience would less likely be acting in a negative way.

In conclusion, it seems that being patient would be a great trait because it is a state of mind that is prerequisite of success and that enable us to think deeply and help us to control the negative feeling.