IELTS TASK 2 Agree/Disagree Police force carrying guns will encourage a higher level of violence.

Question: Some people believe that a police force carrying guns will encourage a higher level of violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that a higher rate of violence can increase if polices are armed with guns on duty. I agree with the statement and believe that the government should take responsibility to determine the use of such lethal weapons.

One of the main problems is that police carrying guns does not mean having lower rates of violence, criminals will likely to do the same to protect themselves. Guns only can be used in extreme conditions so if police officers have the authority to keep the safety on society, the same rule can also apply to criminals, who may use guns to do criminal activities as well as to prevent themselves from getting hurt. As a result, the more guns they carry, the higher rate of violence on the streets. In order to decrease the level of violence, governments should regulate the use of guns for citizens and train police force properly when facing dangerous situations.

Another reason why carrying guns poses threats in society is that innocent people can get injured. Guns can bring people to death within seconds and if this accident happens, police officers can hardly protect citizens. In order to diminish violence on streets, governments need to have stricter rules in the use of guns, especially in police shooting where people can possibly be killed. It is necessary for the police to have awareness of their surroundings so everyone can be safe.

In conclusion, police carrying guns pose a greater threat to society because it increases the use of weapons from criminals and may put innocent people in danger.