[TOEFL]Agree or disagree: The telephone has greater influence on people's lives than TV

Topic: Do you agree or disagree with this statement: The telephone has greater influence on people's lives than televsion has.

Thanks a lot for your advices in advance~~~~~~

With the fast rolling of modern society, TV and telephones have made tremendous development through this process. Some people spend most of their time watching TV and therefore claim that the TV has influenced people's life more than telephone does. Nevertheless, from my point of view, telephone actually influences people's lives more deeply since it helps connect people more closely and raise the company's productivity.

First of all, a complex and sophisticated social network, an essential ingredient of people's lives, is built with the assistance of telephones. As we all know, telephone is the most common communicative tools that people use. Friends or relatives who live in different continents are able to get in touch with each other through a tiny telephone line. My cousin went to Spinash to continue her further study. In the past, I could not be able to talk to my cousin in view of such a long distance between us. However, nowadays at the mercy of the telephone, she can share her study experience and feeling about delicious food in Spinash with me at anytime and I can also know about whether she is accustomed to the life abroad. Obviously, telephone helps people connect others more closely.

In addition, telephone is an extremely essential tool of work, and using telephone increase the productivity considerably. For example, employees and employers depend on telephone while working. when supervisors want their employees to finish some kind of assignment, they have to inform them by calling and When officials introduce their company's products to their potential clients, they have to reach out them by telephone. Also, In modern days there are increasing number of meetings that are held by communicating through telephone. All of these effects assist in improving company's productivity immensely.

Admittedly, TV shows people with a fascinating world using a variety of pictures. Some programs can also represent all aspects of this world to their audiences. Nevertheless, TV is, more often than not, just an entertainment equipment and has nothing to do with the advancement of social interconnection or efficiency. Even for the effect of entertainment, people can just call the ticket offices of airports to book an airport ticket and then travel around the world to see the all aspects of this world with their naked eyes, which is more enlightening and attractive than just seeing things in TV programs.

In conclusion, telephone has more effect on people's lives than TV does.