[TOEFL] agree or disagree the purpose of television is to educate, not to entertain

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? the purpose of television is to educate, not to entertain.

Please give me some feedbacks. Thanks in advancing ~

Nowadays,televsion is becoming more and more essential than in the past and modern people always spend much time watching TV with their families or friends. In this case, some people may assert that TV should be all educative, ticking off all entertainment ingredients. However, In my opinion, television is supposed to have the function both for education and entertainment.

First of all, television is designed for entertainment for it's combination of impressive visual and sound effects. This is why television can attract a multitude of audiences. Moreover, modern people, under the great pressure of the fast pacing society, are urgent to find a vent to release their pressure. Thus, it is imperative to have entertainment activities included in TV programmes. Such as the talk show at every sunday night, it can make audiences laugh and bring happiness to them. when audiences enjoy the show with their families or friends, they would never blame the talk show for lacking educational function.'

In addition, more often than not the educative function and entertaining function are usually hand-in-hand, which means one programme is always educative and entertaining. For instance, as skillfully writing dramas and even comedies series such as "Friends" make audiences laugh, they enable people to think about themselves, about their own lives at the same time. In this case, it is undeniable that TV dramas are multifuncational and not created for only one purpose, education or entertainment.

Admittedly, there are various pure-educational programmes such as documentaries and investigation news that are easy to find on the programme list. They are broadcasted in order to make people learn this world and historical events more deeply and develop a critical thinking skill for audiences. Nevertheless, if the techniques often existed in the entertaining programmes such as stirring visual and vivid narrations are applied in the pure educational programmes, these programmes would definitely keep audiences more engaged.

In conclusion, Television is originally an entertainment media.Education-solely is disregarding the basic function of television. Both educational and entertaining function should exist in televsion programmes at the same time.