IELTS WRITING TASK 2: aim is mostly question of luck

Whether or not someone achieves their aim is mostly question of luck.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people deem luck to be the decisive factor to success. Personally, I partly agree with this statement as I believe that whether or not someone can accomplish their aims relies heavily on a variety of other factors.

On the one hand, I accept that luck plays an important role in one's success. The presence of luck can be reflected in opportunities that people may come across during their journeys to realizing their aims. As a matter of fact, these chances can do wonders for them in several ways such as providing them with novel skills and knowledge or giving them a promotion in their jobs. In addition, luck is manifested in a person's family background. Some people are fortunate enough to be born into a wealthy family, and therefore they are provided with sufficient means that allow them to achieve their goals. Innate talents may be also regarded as a form of luck since not many people can excel in their fields and have capability to fulfill their ambitions by nature.

On the other hand, I believe that other factors should be given equal considerations. Firstly, fulfilling an ambition requires an immense passion because this factor is a guarantee that people will be determined, resilient and learn to overcome every adversary and failure. Secondly, people who want to thrive need to manage their emotions properly so that they can respond to negative situations rationally rather than emotionally. Finally, without proper and sufficient social skills, people can hardly achieve their goals. This is because they may not receive any support from social surroundings and have to shoulder all responsibilities on their own, leading to exhaustion and as a result reduction in work efficiency.

In conclusion, while luck can contribute to one's success to some extent, I hold the view that other subjective factors are also of vital importance.