IELTS WRITING TASK 2: AIR TRANSPORT USED TO EXPORT FOOD

Nowadays air transport is used to export a wide variety of food to countries where the food is out of season. Some people think this is a positive development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People in many countries today can enjoy various kinds of food from other places of the world due to the advancement of transport, especially airplane. I agree with the view that this is a positive development.

First, people's lives are greatly enriched owing to the increase in the variety of food. In the past people's dinner was restricted to the local seasons. Especially in cold districts, very few kinds of food were available in markets and people could only put food in storage by freezing or curing them. The nutrition and freshness were consequently reduced. With the help of air transport, fresh food can be delivered to any corner of the Earth, and people can eat the food out of season without worrying about the quality of the food.

Furthermore, transport of food between countries is also a nice way to promote economic and cultural exchange. Food corporations, airline companies and governments can all make money through international trade, air fare and duties. For consumers, it is also a chance to learn about another culture, which may arouse their interests in travelling to the country where the food are produced.

However, some people may argue that there are other alternatives to provide people with out-of-season food. For example, advancement in agriculture technology has made it possible to simulate the climates in other seasons in greenhouses so that many kinds of food do not exclusively belong to one particular season any more. But in my opinion, compared to the rapidity and convenience of air transport, more time and space are supposed to be consumed by this approach.

In conclusion, people, companies and governments can all benefit from air transport of food, and this kind of business should be encouraged in a world-wide range.